Ayase Haruka leads cast for Watashi wo Hanasanai de

ayase haruka

I’ve sort of been out of the loop with dramas this season, with nothing really catching my attention for more than a few episodes. I think I’m just in a drama slump that will hopefully end sometime before next year because winter’s starting to look good.

Ayase Haruka, along with Miura Haruma and Mizukawa Asami are the leads for TBS’s new drama Watashi wo Hanasanai de. An adaptation of the book Never Let Me Go by Japanese-British author Kazuo Ishiguro, it’s a story about three childhood friends, Kathy (Ayase), Tommy (Miura), and Ruth (Mizukawa) that grew up together at a boarding school, but have been told that they will die when they reach age thirty for an undisclosed reason. The three try to make the best out of their limited lifetimes while trying to work out their complicated relationship.

I haven’t read the book yet, but I did see the movie adaption with Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightley, and Andrew Garfield and I was really impressed with it. It’s described as a ‘dystopian sci-fi thriller’, and yeah, there’s some weird science in here, but don’t worry, this isn’t The Hunger Games/Divergent/The Maze Runner/etc. It’s more of a dark human story with some romance, so I can see this working out well as a drama.

It will definitely be a change of pace for Ayase Haruka, who’s mostly stuck to comedies for the last ten years or so. She used to do a lot of serious roles like Byakuyako and Crying out Love in the Center of the World, so I think she’ll be able to handle handle this. I’m generally ‘meh’ towards Miura Haruma because while he can be really good sometimes (Boku no Ita Jikan, Kimi ni Todoke), when he’s bad, he’s really bad. I think this role might be right up his alley though, since he’s generally good in depressing roles and honestly, Ayase and Mizukawa have more compelling characters. I have no doubts about Mizukawa though, since she’s good at mean girl roles and Ruth’s character just loves to wreak havoc.

Long story short, this should be great as long as TBS gets a competent writer. Watashi wo Hanasanai de airs in January.

4 thoughts on “Ayase Haruka leads cast for Watashi wo Hanasanai de”

  1. I will check this out too, though Miura is really bleh for me and I can’t see him as Tommy. Surely there are better actors out there. I can sort of see Ayase as Kathy and Mizukawa as Ruth. Apparently Ayase already met Ishiguro and he gave her the thumbs-up as Kathy. I don’t remember if I’ve seen the film, but I was not particularly intrigued by the novel – it was a pretty absorbing read but not something I’m likely to return to. I generally prefer Ishiguro’s earlier works, they were more compelling.

    Like

    1. Yeah, Miura’s definitely the weak link here and I can’t really see him having chemistry with either girl. I wish they had cast an actor a little older since Miura’s still baby-faced.

      I haven’t read anything by Ishiguro, what would you recommend?

      Like

      1. His first three novels are recommended:
        – A Pale View of Hills (1982)
        – An Artist of the Floating World (1986)
        – The Remains of the Day (1989) – this has a successful film adaptation that is also recommended.

        I remember being blown away by A Pale View of Hills when I first read it. His later stuff don’t seem to have the zing of the first three novels, but that could be just me, since plenty have liked and raved about Never Let Me Go.

        If you want, you can also read Never Let Me Go before you tackle the drama, although it depends on how much of a purist you are about adaptations and whether you prefer to read the source material before or after seeing the adaptation.

        Like

Leave a Reply

