The Sisterhood of the World & Liebster Awards

sisterhood_award

It’s award season across the blogosphere and I’m surprised that even though I tend to stay in my corner, I’ve received nominations for two awards, The Sisterhood of the World Award and the Liebster Award.

Thanks very much to jandoe, my chingu over at dramaphilic, who always has introspective and relatable posts that I enjoy reading whenever I need to chill out and junny over at Yay, panda! who has some great j-drama reviews that I recommend checking out. She’s a huge Tamaki Hiroshi fan, but she doesn’t let her bias cloud her judgment.

So, here are the rules:

sisterhood_award

The Sisterhood of the World Blogger Awards

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  • Put the award logo on your blog.
  • Answer the questions they have sent you.
  • Make up ten five new questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Nominate five blogs and make sure they are aware they are nominated.
  • When you have responded, leave a link in the comment of the person who nominated you.

Liebster Award

Liebster Award

  • Thank and link the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions given by the nominator.
  • Nominate eleven five bloggers who have less than 200 followers and link them.
  • Create eleven five new questions for the nominees to answer.
  • Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

jandoe’s questions:

  • Name a show you don’t necessarily love, but would totally recommend to others.

For j-dramas, last year’s Border is the first thing that springs to mind. It was well-written, well-acted, had decent music, but it was never a show I was excited to watch week to week. It was good, just not compelling. For k-dramas, it’d probably be Sungkyunkwan Scandal. I didn’t watch it when it aired, despite all the rave reviews, but eventually picked it up out of boredom and found it to be pretty fun. The characters were fleshed out and the plot was good (though the end was so-so) so I good see why so many people liked it, but it just wasn’t a show I went crazy over. Then again, I’m not big on sageuks so that could have something to do with it.

SungkyunkwanScandal1

  • Honest opinions about the recent upswing of idols in Kdramas?

Oddly, this doesn’t bother me that much. I view idols as all-around entertainers, so I think any area of the entertainment field is fair game for them to step into. With all the competition, those kids have to find a way to stand out somehow.  On top of that, many aspiring actors are told to become idols because it will help them land roles faster, so it’s not like these idols are less determined than “real” actors. I mean, there are quite a few idols that should just never act again and aren’t pushed for any other reason than their face, but I think there are just as many, if not more, bad actors that are over pushed as there are idols. Yeah, it sucks to see small talented actors get sidelined, but whether it’s for an idol or for another actor, it really doesn’t make a difference to me.

  • Of all the shows you’d reviewed and/or expressed opinions about before, is there one that you wish or plan to rewrite differently?

Definitely my Heartless City posts. Ugh, I cringe just reading them because I’m rambling for the most part without any clear points and I think I was getting frustrated with writing about the show at the time. I should delete them (they’re so embarrassing!), but I’ll keep them as a reminder of how to write in the future.

  • Do you feel like you live in the wrong era and/or location? Why?

I’m pretty attached to all my tablet/computer/phone etc, so definitely not the wrong era, but I often wish that I lived on the West Coast of the USA. I currently live east side and it’s just too cold here in the winter (and I’m so sick of the snow) and the humidity fries my hair in the summer, and the pollen sucks in the spring, so I’m pretty much grumpy year round.

  • Share the love! Reveal your must read, go-to blog and/or website?

I really like visiting jedmed’s site Psycho-Drama. Psycho-Drama is devoted to Japanese dramas and movies and I always enjoy reading Jed’s posts about his favorite actors. His passion for cinema is evident in his writing and since I’m not always on top of Japanese movies, it’s a good informational site.

junny’s questions:

1. What do you look for in (drama) blogs to read/follow?

I don’t really have any specific criteria. I do try to seek out j-drama blogs just because there aren’t that many out there and I do follow a handful of k-drama blogs, but for the most part, I just want the author(s) have a passion for the show they’re writing about. Anyone can write reviews/ do recaps but not everyone can inject it with their own voice.

2. Do you have a favourite OTP and why?

If I had to say, it’s probably Seo Jung In and Kang Hyun Soo (Lee Min Jung and Jung Kyung Ho) from the k-drama Smile, You. It was rich girl-poor boy, something that isn’t done a lot in k-dramas and LMJ was great as the spoiled rich girl that fell from grace and JKH was adorably awkward as the nerdy engineer. The drama became a chore to watch after it got extended, but I managed to stick through it just for them.

Smile, You1

For j-dramas, rom-com Date is still really fresh in my mind and I was ridiculously attached to the OTP of Yabushita Yoriko and Taniguchi Takumi (Anne and Hasegawa Hiroki). Besides all the crazy antics they got up to because they were so socially awkward, it was interesting watching them become better people as their relationship progressed.

Date1
3. Have you developed any particular style of writing/recapping/reviewing over time?

Hmm, I think I’ve become more concise with recapping. When I started recapping dramas a couple of years ago, I used to cover every little thing in one episode, mostly because I didn’t want to miss anything, but that became a pain and I’ve learned to cut down. I also used to put in way too many screencaps and it made for slightly awkward reading, but I’ve cut back since then.

My seasonal first impressions have changed a bit, since I used to give a drama one episode to formulate an opinion, but now I give it at least two or three before passing judgment and add in a synopsis for each drama, to give more context.

4. How do you keep the blogging momentum going?

By interacting with other bloggers and readers! I don’t have too many people to spazz over a drama with in real life, so blogging definitely gives me an outlet.

5. Do you drink? If so, what is your favourite drink?

Not a drinker, sorry.

6. If you could ask your favourite actor/actress a question, what would it be?

Do you prefer taking serious or comedic roles?

7. Which country’s dramas do you prefer and why?

Umm, I think I’m about even with k-dramas and j-dramas, since I watch around the same amount per year. I like the variety j-dramas offer and even though k-dramas are more formulaic and predictable, they’re like comfort food, so I can’t let them go.

8. Do you have a go-to book or music?

Arashi is always guaranteed to put me in a good mood.

Arashi
9. Do you have a favourite live-action series?

Though my love waned with the second season, I’ll have to go with Itazura na Kiss~Love in Tokyo. I’m actually not very fond of the show’s source material, but somehow this version managed to click with me.

ItaKiss2Final

10. On average, how long does it take you to write up a post?

It usually depends on what type of post I’m doing and what kind of mood I’m in. I can do a recap in about two days, but a review can take anywhere from a week to a couple of months.
11. Where do you see your blog in five years’ time?

Uhhh…I have no idea. My blog is more of a stress reliever than anything else and I post semi-regularly. Hopefully it will still be here!

I won’t be passing along the award since all the bloggers I know have already been nominated, but I’m happy to take part in the love around the blogosphere. Thanks again to jandoe and junny for the nominations!

4 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the World & Liebster Awards”

  1. You answered my Qs!!! Hehe thank youuuu, I enjoyed reading them 🙂 YES I remember I nominated you last year too hahaha, but like I said – don’t worry about it! Just the fact you took the time this year to do this… 🙂 love all your answers, I feel like this award thingy really gave me an opportunity to get to know you better beyond what I *think* I know about you already ^_^ And I gotta agree about ItaKiss live-action – though maybe for me, BOF (mostly for sentimental reasons haha) tops the list but if even if that is so I’d say ItaKiss S1 is still a close second. That show’s second season though… (deep sigh)

    PS re: “Anyone can write reviews/ do recaps but not everyone can inject it with their own voice.” -> Yes yes yes! You said it! 🙂
    PPS How are you btw? Haven’t ‘seen’ you around much lately!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, BOF was my second choice because I was crazy obsessed with it back when it aired, but it hasn’t held up that well over time, at least for me. I’ve been good, I needed to reorganize my life a bit and I decided to go back to school which is turning out way harder than I thought, so I haven’t had a chance to hang around as much.

      Like

  2. Thanks so much for replying to my questions! Pretty interesting answers and I can relate to some – I find myself trying to cut down on the details when writing reviews as well, but the posts still end up way too long, haha And I know the feeling about screencaps, it’s very difficult to not paste my entire blog with Tamaki ones! (see, the objectivity goes out of the window once his name is mentioned XD) I especially like your reply to my first question, totally found myself nodding in agreement!

    I didn’t watch much of Smile, You though I liked the Lee Min-jung and Jung Kyung-ho pairing, they were adorable. And then Jung went on a 180-degree turn in Heartless City which totally sexed him up, haha. Speaking of which, I should totally hunt for your HC posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I try to tell myself “Less is more!” when I write, but that doesn’t always quite work out and I start rambling.

      Trust me, you saved yourself a headache, Smile, You went totally to crazy-ville in its second half. It was so weird seeing Jung in Heartless City after that, though he totally rocked that role.

      Like

Leave a Reply

