NEWS x Kaguya x Mika Ninagawa

 

Popolo20141003Popolo20141004

Image credit: inala.livejournal.com

I figured that NEWS wasn’t going to have another release this year after ONE-for the win- back in June, but I’m happy that Johnny isn’t forcing us to wait till summer like he always does for a new release. NEWS’s first single for 2015 was just announced and while I am always happy to see a new NEWS release, I am particularly interested in how this single will turn out for two reasons.

The first was that the PV will be directed by photographer/director Mika Ninagawa, who’s worked on a handful of AKB48 videos, most notably the fanservice-y hit Heavy Rotation. I…do not like that video, but I doubt we’re going to get NEWS doing very suggestive things while rolling around in their underwear since male idols and female idols are marketed differently and looking at other videos Ninagawa’s worked on for singers like Sandaime J Soul Brothers and Yuzu, Heavy Rotation is definitely not indicative of Ninagawa’s overall style.

ninamika2
Credit to ninamika.com

ninamika1

At any rate, it will be interesting to see what Ninagawa does as I think that the colors and flowers she uses have a really pleasing aesthetic and her pictures are really gorgeous. NEWS had a similar color palette for their Seven Colors PV that I think worked really well for them (it was a dull PV, but so pretty), so I’m going to remain optimistic about this.

The second is that NEWS is finally moving away from the soccer tie-in singles as this one is titled Kaguya after the main character in the famous Japanese folktale Kaguya-hime. Also known as The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter, the story tells of Kaguya, a princess from the moon found in a bamboo shoot that is raised by an elderly bamboo cutter and his wife. She grows into a beautiful young woman and is pursued by five princes (I suppose four in this case) for her hand. Kaguya gives the men impossible tasks in order for her to consider marrying one of them, which they eagerly take up only to get more than what they bargained for.

Credit to japantimes.co.jp
Credit to japantimes.co.jp

As much as I would like to see Tegoshi become a princess ( which is still totally possible considering how much that guy loves putting on a dress and make-up and puts all females to shame with how good he looks), I’m all for watching NEWS gallivanting around as hapless princes trying to win the love of an ethereal beauty. I also wonder if they’re going to tweak the story a bit since none of the princes exactly have a happy fate.

With such a famous story and director attached, I’m crossing my fingers that this will be more than your typical low-budget JE PV. Yes, I know I’m wishing for the impossible, please let me have this.

Kaguya will be released on January 7, 2015.

Leave a Reply

