Matsujun and Ueno Juri are adorable in first trailer for Hidamari no Kanojo

vlcsnap-2013-05-23-00h45m06s12

Matsujun and Ueno Juri is never a pairing I’ve thought about before, so when I first about Hidamari no Kanojo (The Girl in the Sun), my reaction was “Whaaaaat?”

I still don’t think I’ve quite wrapped my mind around this pairing (I think there’s a small part of me trying to process what Domyouji and Nodame are doing together), but I can’t deny that they look cute together.

Based on the fantasy-romance novel of the same name (sigh, I’m sort of getting tired of all these novel adaptations, Japan), the movie tells the love story between Kosuke (Matsujun’s character) and Mao (Ueno Juri’s character). The two eventually decide to marry, but there’s a secret Mao’s keeping from Kosuke.

Both Matsujun and Ueno Juri have had some misses in the last few years, so hopefully this movie will break the streak. I don’t expect anything ground breaking, since this still looks like standard rom-com, even with the fantasy bent.  They both usually have good chemistry with their co-stars, so the only way this movie could fail is if these two don’t click, which looks unlikely based on the trailer. Takahiro Miki, who was behind the two-part movie adaption of popular manga We Were There, will be directing.

Hidamari no Kanojo will open in Japan on October 12.

Leave a Reply

