Spring 2013-Spinsters, Thieves, and Tutors

Believe it or not, Itazura na Kiss isn’t the only thing I’ve been watching this season.

Last Cinderella

350px-Last_Cinderella

Starring: Shinohara Ryoko, Miura Haruma, Fujiki Naohito, Otsuka Nene, Iijima Naoko, Nanao

Last Cinderella was actually my most anticipated drama this season. Setting aside Miura Haruma, who I’ve never really warmed up to, how could a romantic comedy with Fujiki and Shinohara fail? *Sigh* Don’t get me wrong, I like this drama so far, but I’m starting to get fed up with Sakura, Shinohara’s character. I understand that she hasn’t dated in over ten years and having a pretty young man like Hiroto around would make any girl loopy, but having a grown woman act like a lovesick teen is driving me nuts. I think it’s because Sakura was initially portrayed as an independent, smart career woman in the first episode, so to see her reduced to a woman lacking any common sense or will power feels like a disconnect. Hello writer, at least be consistent!

Surprisingly, Miura’s not that bad as Hiroto. I’m not  buying into his romance with Sakura since he looks like her kid brother and I really hope these two aren’t the end game, but I think he’s really selling the bad boy character. Still, I’m rooting for Rintaro because Fujiki’s playing him because he has better chemistry with Sakura and I think  Rintaro might have some secret history with Sakura.

I have one word to describe Chiyoko: Crazy. It was already weird that she liked Rintaro because she had known since she was like five and he was twenty, but did you see her super-freaky slide show dedicated to Rintaro? Scary.  

The weird love triangle between Miki, Shima, and Miki’s husband, is actually pretty hilarious only because it’s not playing out the way I thought it would. I didn’t expect Shima to find out so quickly that the guy she was preying on was her friend’s husband and I’m glad that she knows where to draw the line. While Shima is the typical man-eater character, she doesn’t let that desire control all of her actions, so I like that about her. I wish something more was going on with Miki besides her war with her mother-in-law though.

Final verdict: Watchable, but not as cracktastic as I’d hoped it’d be.

TAKE FIVE

800px-Takefive

Starring: Karasawa Toshiaki, Matsuzaka Tori, Inagaki Goro, Matsuyuki Yasuko, Baisho Mitsuko

I was holding out on the second episode to see if this show delivered and while episode two felt more like a rehash of episode one, I still think this show has potential, only because the ending of episode two promised a shake-up. I love the bromance between Masayoshi and Haruto and it’s fun watching them try to one-up each other. The heists aren’t very realistic, but they’re fun to watch, but I hope the next episode isn’t going to be about another company declaring bankruptcy to cheat people out of their money because that’s going to get really old really fast. Also, if Masayoshi starts preaching about love one more time I’m going to go crazy. I get it, love is important. I am interested in knowing exactly what happened twenty years ago on Take Five’s last mission that resulted in that detective’s death and what’s up with Baisho Mitsuko’s character. I could do without the detective, though I liked her more in episode two than the first episode.

Final verdict: Has potential; can be a little preachy, but still manages to be fun

Kazoku Game

Kazoku_Game

Starring: Sakurai Sho, Kamiki Ryunosuke, Uragami Seishu, Itao Itsuji, Suzuki Honami

If the insane popularity of Kaisefu no Mita is anything to go by, this drama will probably be a hit.  Unfortunately everything about Kaisefu no Mita rubbed me the wrong way and I don’t feel that differently about Kazoku Game. I do like that it’s trying to highlight the problems with the typical nuclear family, but I don’t like the way it’s doing it. While Yoshimoto isn’t as robotic as Mita and I can actually see how his insane actions are supposed to help the family, everything still feels a little too extreme. Seriously, what parent on earth would let someone lock their child in their room for a week without food or water just so the kid will go back to school? On top of that, you have to pay for that super expensive door that’s being used to lock your child up. Really? Really?

I’ve only seen the first episode, so maybe it’ll get better, but right now I don’t have my hopes up.

Final verdict: Good if you liked Kaisefu no Mita. Avoid otherwise.

Leave a Reply

