Nice Guy

Because there’s something strangely addicting about watching emotionally screwed up people.

Normally, melodramas have me running away screaming. If I do watch one, I spend the majority of the drama banging my head against a wall because all the characters are just so frustrating and the situations too ridiculous to imagine. However, Nice Guy has been receiving lots of praise and finding myself too lazy to finish the rest of the dramas I’m currently watching and needing a break from real life, I decided to see what all the commotion was about.

While every character is about as emotionally stable as a mental patient in a psych ward, none of them are frustrating beyond reason. Well, okay, maybe Maru is. I understand that personal revenge is motivated because you have some type of deep emotional investment in the other party (because if he didn’t want revenge, Jae Hee obviously didn’t mean that much to him), but his constant flip-flopping of wanting to get revenge on Jae Hee one moment and then wanting to protect her the next was driving me nuts (it’s one or the other, pick one!), but after episode eight, where Maru finally lets go, it was worth it, just because we see how much he meant to her and how much it took to let her go (though you’d think after going to jail for five years, getting kicked out of medical school, becoming a male gigolo, and then getting slapped with blackmail charges even though you didn’t do anything would be enough to make a person let go, but whatever). Hopefully now that he’s over her, we’ll get to see a different side to Maru, because watching Jae Hee-obsessed Maru got old about six episodes ago.

For some reason, I don’t hate Jae Hee, though I’m pretty sure I will later on. I did find myself wanting to wring her neck in episode eight with that stint she pulled on Maru, but I’m still not at the point where I want to watch her be brought down. I don’t know why; I guess I just like social climbers. She is conniving and deceitful, but with good reason. Well, maybe not good, but with an understandable reason. She’s kind of a gray character right now, but seeing that all the characters are gradually changing with each episode, I anticipate watching her become an outright evil character.

The saving grace of this drama, unexpectedly, is Eun Gi, who I thought would be the dullest character out of the bunch. While I liked the Eun Gi that pretty much gave the finger to anyone and everyone, I love the innocent, naive Eun Gi. She is pitiful, being manipulated by Maru and even after finding out the truth, still sticking by him. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is. In theory, it shouldn’t make sense, especially considering all the events that made Eun Gi so jaded before she met Maru, but with Maru and Jae Hee running around, I guess we don’t need another character backstabbing and scheming. Besides, as we’ve seen with Maru, love makes you crazy. It makes her the one redeeming character in this drama (though wouldn’t it have been awesome if Eun Gi really had been playing Maru so she could trap Jae Hee and then fallen in love with Maru, be morally conflicted, get amnesia, fall in love with Maru again, remember everything, throw aside her feelings for Maru, manipulate Maru and Jae Hee into destroying each other with Attorney Park’s help, and then become the CEO of Tae San? And maybe marry Attorney Park somewhere around there. Oh well, what could have been.)

None of the other characters are particularly important. Attorney Park is cute, making puppy dog eyes at the oblivious Jae Hee and doing his best to protect her. Attorney Ahn, aka Jae Hee’s second bitch, is just there to help Jae Hee’s character walk the road to hell. Don’t even get me started on Choco and Jae Gil. I understand wanting to lighten up a drama with characters that aren’t emotional wrecks, but these two are annoying and unnecessary.

Overall, Nice Guy is good so far. Dark, intense, and with characters I’m invested in, I’m interested to see how everything plays out.

Leave a Reply

